What tech career should I persue

So as I eluded to in my intro for a variety of reasons I am done teaching and looking to move in to some tech career.

Like many of us I have been a tech tinkerer since I was a teen, but master of none. I will need more study to get where I want to go.

I think I am tossing up between software development and InfoSec. I kind of like the idea of penatration testing but I only know a small bit about it in practice.

Recently I have been working on my coding building on my skills to teach my year 8 - 10 the basics of coding and to make basic games and robotics. I do enjoy coding, I just would like to know some other options before I commit to that.

Because we have many people in the tech field just thought I could ask y’all’s experience’s

All I can tell you about penetration testing, and infosec in general, id that it needs a certain mindset. Which is generally exactly opposite to that of a programmer. A programmer wants to build things. A hacker wants to tear them down. Sounds simple, but if you don’t have an inbuilt instinct to try and break any system the first time you play with it, I don’t think you’ll be got a penetration testing.

There are people who play a video game and basically try to intuit the rules the designers are trying to impart and then stick with them. And then there are those who always try to mess with the systems to speedrun the game or cheese its AI and thus win by being cleverer than the designer. The second category of people are born pentesters.

I’m not, BTW. I rather build things than destroy them so I was always much better at creating than at hacking.

I’m not saying you can’t learn to think like that. But from my own experience it can be very hard, especially if you are a creative type. And it might not actually be something you enjoy.